FiveForTheWeekend

Oh the pressure of a weekend! 
So much free time, so many friends to have coffee with, so many loads of washing to ignore.. 
Really, weekends can get a little monotonous, so I have come to your rescue with what will be a regular post every single Friday (please don’t hold me to that) of five super fun things you can do this very weekend that are way better than ignoring loads of washing or drinking latte’s in your activewear. Introducing…
FiveForTheWeekend!
The weather this weekend is a little drab where I am, so I’ve tailored this weeks ‘FiveForTheWeekend’ to activities that will keep you warm, dry and indoors.

1. Binge on a cool podcast.
My favourite at the moment is Serial. I binge-listened to the entire first season in a day. If you love any true crime stories and documentaries you will LOVE this one. It is so damn good and so damn addictive! Be warned: you will get very emotionally invested in the stories and the people, to the point that you may Google them all just so you can put a face to the name because, y’know, you feel like you know them so well.. Season 2 is also about to drop so you don’t have to worry about running out episodes.

2. Bake something from scratch.
I should probably not personally be recommending this activity since the last time I tried baking Anzac cookies they turned out looking like this… 


However, for those of you who aren’t domestically challenged (like I clearly am) baking something new from scratch is great way to spend some time indoors. You can drink wine while you do it and you can potentially eat your weight in cookie dough. Plus if it works out better than my Anzac cookies, you can take your masterpiece to work on Monday and do an ‘I made them myself’ humble-brag. Check out Taste for some simple and delicious recipes to try. 

3. Read a good book.
I love reading and get very excited when I find a book that is so good I can’t put it down but finding the time to do it is near impossible.

 

Enter dreary, miserable weekend! 
There is nothing better than curling up on the couch in your pj’s with a good book when it’s grey and cold outside. If you’re stuck for a good title to read, here are a few good ones I’ve read in recent months.
Yes Please – by Amy Poehler (Obviously hilarious and suprisingly inspiring).
Grace – by Grace Coddington 

(If you don’t know who she is, probably don’t bother. You won’t get it. If you do know who she is, DEFINITELY bother).
The Perks of Being a Wallflower – Stephen Chbosky 

(A classic that I’ve only just read and now believe everyone on Earth should read).
Alexander McQueen; Beneath The Blood – Andrew Wilson

(A beautiful and heartbreaking biography about my absolute favourite designer in the history of the world).
Feel free to share some of your recent favourites! I’m always on the lookout for another good read.

4. Go to the movies.
A bit clichรฉ for a weekend to-do list I know, but hear me out. Firstly, you don’t want a waste a warm and sunny weekend in the cinema, so a cold and rainy one is the perfect time to go.

Secondly, if you’re lucky enough to have a great little arthouse cinema near you that you’ve been meaning to check out, what better time? Many of these cinemas are locally owned, so your support your local and enjoy a cool foreign film or a future cult-favourite you may never have come across a otherwise. 
If any of my readers are in Geelong, there is a beautiful little cinema called The Pivotonian that’s opened recently on Verner St in South Geelong that I love. Just quietly, the choc-tops are to die for!
On a side note, if you need any more convincing, most of these cute little cinemas are fully licensed. 
That means wine guys, popcorn and wine. 

5. Knit a scarf.
I’m obviously joking. Drink a bottle of wine instead.

Enjoy your weekend lovers xx.

Leave a Reply

