Inhale the good, exhale the bull

I’ve never really done a post like this before but I have had a lot of changes in my life lately that’s really made me take a step back and take stock of things and realise how truly grateful I am for everything I have, and I wanted to share some of my mantras with you guys that I use in tough times that always help me through. Hopefully it can help some of you too.

 

Trust in the universe

Now, I’m not really one for change. Once I’m in a routine I’m pretty well happily stuck there. Before packing up my life and moving to a whole new city last year I had lived in the same house for years, had the same job for years, and the same friends for even longer than that. But then I suddenly got this itch and felt like I needed to just jump and trust that universe would catch me if I fell. And catch me it did! Within a week of living in our strange new city we got a place to live, I got a job, and I started a new chapter of my life and went back to study. Don’t get me wrong, my partner and I went through some tough times together. I mean tough! He struggled to find a job for a few months and I was only working part time while I studied so we could barely pay our rent, let alone eat. For a while we couldn’t even afford a to buy a fridge so would buy a bag of ice every couple of days and put it in the laundry sink so we could keep our milk and meat cold. Seriously. It was below poverty line kind of stuff. But no matter how hard it was having no money, no friends and living in a strange new city we would constantly tell each other “the universe will sort it out.” And it did. Flash forward over a year and we’re both doing what we love, have a beautiful place to call home with our little family (two dogs) and are enjoying our new life. This mantra has gotten me through more times than I can count. And I really, honestly believe that if you open your mind and your heart to positive possibilities the universe will always help you land on your feet, even if it’s not straight away apparent. It’s not always easy to be positive but it is always possible to change your perspective. Say you didn’t get a job you applied for; instead of getting down on yourself about it change the way you react to that situation and trust that the reason you didn’t get it is because the universe has something else planned for you. The universe may know the timing isn’t right, or that there is something better out there for you. Stay positive and, more importantly, be excited at what other amazing opportunity is just around the corner!

 

It could always be worse

I have to give credit to my darling fiance for this one. If I’m every being pissy or whingey or am just in a flat out bad mood because something isn’t going right I stop and think to myself “yup, this sucks, but it could definitely be worse.” Yes, there are times where it feels like there is no light at the end of the tunnel and all you want to do is fall in a heap and cry, well DO THAT! Cry it out, scream into a pillow, go for a run, whatever it is you need to do to get yourself to a point where you can finally take a step back and realise it could always be worse. When I’m walking to the train station and it’s freezing cold and I’m getting blisters and I’m running late and my bag strap just broke and my text books have spilled onto the road and all I want to do is sit in the street and sob, I will pull myself together and think; hey, could be worse. I could only have one leg. Or I could not have a home to go to after a long day, or a warm shower waiting for me when I get home, or any other possible thing I can think of to pull myself out of my sook and just get on with it. Which brings me to my next mantra:

Do your ‘grateful’s’.

Doing your ‘grateful’s’ is whenever you’re in a situation like above, or worse, or you’re just feeling down for whatever reason you start listing things in your life that you’re grateful for. Like in my walking to the train example (which really happened to me. Not funny at the time but I can laugh about it now.) I started doing my grateful’s even though I had the shits and I didn’t want to do them, but by the time I got to the fourth thing I was grateful for I was practically skipping down the street. Even when times are really tough and you’re having the darkest of days there will always be something you can find to start your list of gratefuls. Even something as simple as being grateful that the sun is out and it’s warm, or that you have clothes on your back and shoes on your feet, that you get to walk past a pretty rose bush on your way to work every day, that your children are healthy, that you can afford to put dinner on the table that night, ANYTHING you can think of. I promise once you get started the list will start flowing and your mood will change in an instant.

 

Will this matter in a year?

Whenever I’m getting worked up about something and I ask myself “Is this going to matter to me in a years time?” 99% of the time the answer is no. If the answer is no, it’s not going to matter in a years time, then move on! Don’t waste your precious time and energy on it if it’s so trivial you won’t even remember it in a a few months.

A lion doesn’t lose sleep over the opinion of a sheep.

I love this one because it makes me feel strong. It’s not saying that you think you are better than, or above, anyone else. To me it’s more about self-worth. YOUR opinion is the only one that matters. The value you hold for yourself is worth so much more than anyone else’s ideals or opinions of you. If, like me, you sometimes have trouble moving on from a snide comment or can’t shake an opinion that someone else had on a matter that’s important to you, just remember you are the lion. You hold the power to make the decisions in your life, not the sheep.

Edit

 

And my final mantra that has gotten me through many a tough time:

Thank you Britney!

Follow my daily life on Instagram for more inspirational (or just hilarious) quotes and pics! And a cute outfit here and there.

http://www.instagram.com/thelittleredblogger

Xx.

TLRB

Leave a Reply

